MALGA trio set for QSC test in Adelaide

MALGA trio set for QSC test in Adelaide

KUALA LUMPUR: The Malaysian Ladies Golf Association (MALGA) has named a strong line-up for the 41st playing of the Asia-Pacific Ladies Invitational Golf Team Championship for the Queen Sirikit Cup.

Exciting young talent Mirabel Ting of Sarawak will join the established pair of Liyana Durisic and Winnie Ng in flying the Jalur Gemilang at Adelaide’s Glenelg Golf Club with MALGA vice-president Ireen Teng acting as the team captain.

Speaking to The ClubHouse, MALGA executive director Dato’ Rabeahtul Aloya Abbas shared that the selection process included a two-day trial conducted recently at The Royal Selangor Golf Club.

“It has been our tradition to conduct a trial for the Queen Sirikit Cup in recent years, and this year, Mirabel and Liyana were the top two players after a gruelling 54-hole shootout,” said Rabeahtul.

“We set-up the trial in such a way that the participants played from a mixture of blue and white tees, testing both their distance control as well as more critically, their decision-making skills, especially on their approach shots.

“While Winnie was unable to make the trials, the selection committee felt that it was important to have a consistent team player who can anchor the team. Having played the 2017 edition in Jiangsu, China, we felt she would fit the bill, and her experience should help us maintain a top-ten, if not better finish,” added the seasoned administrator.

The Malaysians will join elite women golfers from 14 countries across the region, who will compete from March 6-8.

Powerhouse Korean team have remarkably won 11 of the past 12 Queen Sirikit Cups, with Australia’s win – courtesy of Minjee Lee, Su Oh as well as Grace Lennon – in 2013 being the exception.

With an emerging Thai team, along with Japan and the Philippines pushing the Koreans all the way in Thailand last year, the competition is likely to be fierce.

Teams of three players contest 54 holes of stroke play, with the best two scores for each round counting as the team score.

The annual competition is conducted by the Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation, in conjunction with the host country as well as with financial support from the R&A.

Throughout its history, the event has been a breeding ground for future champions and just since 2005 that list has included world number ones Yani Tseng, Lydia Ko and So Yeon Ryu, along with a host of LPGA Tour tournament winners.